A New University for the South-West Region

Cork Institute of Technology (CIT) and Institute of Technology Tralee (ITT) is set to become a Technological University. Munster Technological University (MTU) will be officially established in January 2021 and will be Ireland’s newest Technological University.

The project leader of the MTU and lecturer at CIT, Hugh McGlynn, said the only technological university outside Dublin is “great news for the south-west region” and will give the country the “regional development” it needs. He said that the move will enhance the reputation of students, improve conditions, secure better funding streams, and better campus development.

Prof McGlynn said that post-Covid-19, MTU will be a “driver for regional development, growth, and opportunities” for the 15,300 students enrolled in CIT and IT Tralee.

President of CIT, Barry O’Connor, said the designation of CIT and IT Tralee together as the MTU is a “vote of confidence”. Students will have access to a broader range of educational opportunities with over 140 courses and programmes on offer across six campuses in Kerry and Cork.

CIT’s Bishopstown campus, Cork School of Music, Crawford College of Art and Design, the National Maritime College of Ireland in Ringaskiddy, and IT Tralee’s north and south campuses all come under the umbrella of MTU.

Prof McGlynn added: “Technological universities operate from apprentices to PhDs and everything in between so there’s an array of opportunities for people looking to reskill.”


Comments are closed.